I love trying new things when both eating and cooking.  I’ve always been a fairly healthy eater and really enjoy trying new vegetarian dishes.   Throughout the years, I’ve actually come to prefer eating vegetarian, or I guess it’s called pescatarian because I can’t give up my seafood!  Chicken wings and sandwiches are something that won’t be leaving my diet anytime soon though 🙂

This recipe offers interesting texture and extra protein thanks to the tofu.  I know that many will turn their noses up when they see tofu in the recipe name and some will just not be able to get past the unusual texture that it provides, but I have to say, I really enjoyed this recipe even with the tofu.   If you just can’t get past it, try to replace with chicken, chickpeas, lentils or dried beans in order to maintain the protein content of the dish.  It is so easy and so delicious!  I also replaced the linguine with brown rice spaghetti.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. linguine or spaghetti
  • 4 large ripe tomatoes (I used grape tomatoes)
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil
  • 3 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 2 TBSP minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp, each salt and pepper
  • 1 package firm tofu
  • 1 bag fresh spinach
  • Serve with grated Parmesan cheese

Preparation:

  1. Cook past as package directs; drain, reserving 1/3 cup cooking water.  Return pasta to pot.
  2. While pasta cooks, stir tomatoes, basil, 1 TBSP each oil and garlic and the salt and pepper in a bowl to mix.
  3. Heat remaining 2 TBSP oil in a large, nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add tofu and saute 4 to 5 minutes until lightly golden.  Add remaining 1 TBSP garlic; saute 30 seconds until aromatic.  Add spinach and 1 TBSP water.  Cover and cook 2-3 minutes until wilted.
  4. Toss pasta with tomato and tofu mixtures and up to 1/3 cup reserved cooking water to loosen pasta.