It’s been about a month since I last wrote an article.  It just so happens that life has gotten in the way and I haven’t been able to find the time to sit down and write.  I still have so much to tell you guys and I have some great articles in mind with advice, experiences and recipes, so I’M BACK!  I’m going to take the time in this first article back to reflect, so please, take it as you may.

Taking some time away from the computer screen has helped me focus on my training and I’ve found myself less than a month away from the hardest thing I’ve done in my life.  In the time since I wrote the article about losing my mind and being exhausted, I’ve taken a complete turn in both my body and my mindset.  I’ve ran 21 miles (see sweaty picture above for proof) and I’ve built the confidence in myself to  cross the finish line.  Running into people on the streets and at parties who have followed me on Facebook (and the blog) and who have told me how much they appreciate what I’m doing has made me feel like a new person.

My main reason for writing this specific article is that I’ve missed you guys!  I’ve missed the positive comments and I’ve missed feeling like I’m helping you out!  In turn, I’m going to post a bunch of recipes at once and update my track workouts.  I want you guys to be able to count on me.  October 9th is fast approaching.  According to the Newport Marathon website, it’s 19 days away!  WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN?!

I’m freaking out, both from nerves and excitement.  I’m nervous about running for 4+ hours.  I’m nervous for friends and family potentially seeing me fail.  I’m excited for actually competing and I’m excited for the training to be over.  It’s been such an incredible journey, granted it’s not over YET.  I’m putting it in writing right now– I’m so glad that I signed up for this marathon.  Regardless of the outcome, I’ve learned so much about myself, both as a runner and as a person.  It’s been more of a mental journey than I ever thought it would be.  I thought I was a runner who could do anything, but  I’ve learned that I needed to push through my insecurities.  I’ve been able to correlate my failures in running to failures in both my personal and professional life. I’ve always been fast and I’ve always been able to run distances.  Welp, that hasn’t rang true and I’ve truly been humbled over these past 6 months of training.  However, has it really only been 6 months?

The other day, somebody asked me how long I’ve training for this marathon.  I’ve realized that I actually have no idea.  I went right from training for my half marathon on May 1st into training for this.  I’ve pretty much been training for all of 2016!  That seems unreal to me and it’s made me realize that this has become such a huge part of my life.  I base my plans around running, and that’s fine with me.  It’s hard.  I know that I’ve let some people down throughout the way and that hurts, but I’m creating experiences and I’m going through a huge part of my life.  I’ve learned that I’m allowed to be selfish, as weird as that sounds.  I don’t know that I’ll ever be the completely confident person that I really want to be, but I’ve gotten closer than I ever thought I’d be able to before.  I’m almost there and I ask you all to bear with me for a little while longer.

Then…. we’ll just have to focus on the half marathon 1 month later *sigh*

Happy Running!

 

 

